Citizens of the Year 2021

Citizens of the Year

Ladysmith’s health care workers and the Vancouver Island Health Authority were named the 2021 Citizens of the Year at Ladysmith Days Kinsmen Parade on August 1st.

“It’s an honour to have our health care workers of Ladysmith be recognized,” Faye Hjort, team lead at the Ladysmith Health Centre said.

Health care workers were chosen as citizens of the year for their dedicated service to the community throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. Without health care workers and the success of Canada’s vaccine rollout, it’s unlikely events like Ladysmith Days would have occurred.

“This is really what we’ve been working for. Seeing things return to normal and seeing people out and able to celebrate,” Hjort said.

When asked what message they’d like to share with the public after being named citizens of the year, Mary Bradshaw who works as an immunizer in Parksville Qualicum had one clear message:

“Get vaccinated if you haven’t already.”

Read more »

. . . .

The Citizen of the Year Award is presented for outstanding Community Service over a period of time. The service must be voluntary and does not include service where there has been a connection to normal employment. Businesses, organizations and service groups are welcome to nominate individuals in recognition of their volunteer service.

Nominations are open to all residents of the Ladysmith area; however they must conform to the guidelines set forth by the Ladysmith Celebrations Society. The nominations received will be judged by a panel selected from the committee.

Previous Winners

  • 1977: Una Haughton
  • 1978: Elizabeth Adams
  • 1979: Ray Knight
  • 1980: Orval Delcourt
  • 1981: Beth Chalmers
  • 1982: Betty Davidson
  • 1983: Erik and Ruth Peereson
  • 1984: Marg Swettenham
  • 1985: Florence Stewart
  • 1986: Howie Davis
  • 1987: Vince Herkel
  • 1988: Bernard Churchill
  • 1989: no award presented
  • 1990: Dennis and Pat Irvine
  • 1991: Rev. H. W. Nettleton
  • 1992: Glenda Patterson
  • 1993: Georgie Oliver
  • 1994: Anne Wavrecan
  • 1995: John and Flow Gourlay
  • 1996: Bonnie Wilson
  • 1997: Larry Adair
  • 1998: Gordon Paterson and Ladysmith Hospital Auxiliary
  • 1999: Tom Beames
  • 2000: Don “Duck” and Tracy Paterson
  • 2001: Wayne Richmond and Mary Rasmussen
  • 2002: Pam Carmichael and Derek Dorken
  • 2003: Dr. Tom and Wilma Wickham
  • 2004: Fran Carey
  • 2005: Kit Wilmot
  • 2006: Pat Edge
  • 2007: Aili Kenyon
  • 2008: Bob Raapana
  • 2009: Gus and Gay Armstrong
  • 2010: Jim Cram
  • 2011: Ladysmith Maritime Society
  • 2012: Bill Drysdale
  • 2013: Maureen Martin
  • 2014: Nita Grant
  • 2015: Rob Johnson
  • 2016: Myfanwy Plecas
  • 2017: Jim Delcourt
  • 2018: Ray Delcourt
  • 2019: Denny Forrest
  • 2020: not announced due to the pandemic
  • 2021: Ladysmith’s health care workers and the Vancouver Island Health Authority

Well done, folks!

Parade Float Winners 2017

“As the kickoff to another Ladysmith Days, the annual Kinsmen parade was more than what we expected,”

said co-chair Mike Sumpter.

“The last couple of years the parade has been smaller and smaller, so this year we were really pleased with the turnout of entries”.

The Kinsmen were worried earlier in the summer as the number of advance registrations was down and the club was even considering taking on another project to replace the parade.

Kinsmen co-chair Duck Paterson said:

“The club has been doing the parade for over 25 years now and it was getting a bit dicey. With so many other events on during the long weekend it’s tougher and tougher to get folks out, but this year the number of participants was up and we’re happy. On paper there was more than 35 entries and many of them had various components which really made it look great.”

Sumpter reported:

“The work volunteers put into their entries is very imaginative and we know it’s very well received by the spectators”.

Paterson said:

“Our goal is that the parade is to be as much fun for the participants as it is for the spectators, and this year I feel we really accomplished that this year!”

“Before the parade started first, second and third place ribbons were handed out… but we want all the entries to know that due to their time and efforts it made or a total winner for the start of Ladysmith Days”.

Finishing in the various categories is as follows:

  • Marching/dancing unit: 3rd place was Skillz Canada Marshall Arts, 2nd place going to the Fuller Lake Figure Skating club, 1st place to the Festival of Lights Drill Team.
  • Musical group: 2nd place the Gizeh Moroccan Shriners Band, 1st place went to the joint cadet band from HMCA Quadra.
  • Best float: 3rd place was the Celebrations Society, 2nd place was the Eagles, with St. Joseph’s School taking 1st place.
  • Commercial entry: 3rd place was Skillz Canada Martial Arts, 2nd place was 49th Parallel Grocery, 1st place went to Ladysmith A&W.
  • Comic entry: Gizeh Temple Shriners were 3rd while Festival of Lights came 2nd, and 1st place went to Maritime Society pirates.
  • Special car or truck: the Vintage Tractor Club won 3rd place, the Sticks and Stones Offroaders took 2nd (it had to be the dirt), 1st place was won by the British Car Club.
  • Kiddies costume: the Fuller Lake Figure skaters took the 3rd place ribbon, while Dahlia L’Heureux (from the Mustang Club) and Pooh Bear won 2nd place, 1st place was taken by the, “Birthday Princess”, Daphne Anderson.
  • Adult (theme) costume: the Ladysmith Eagles took the 3rd place ribbon, the Ladysmith Maritime Society pirates took 2nd place, and Muriel Copp in her Canadiana decorated scooter took the 1st place ribbon.
  • Animal entry: the Shriners’ “bear” took 3rd place, the A&W Great Root Bear was 2nd place, the Festival of Lights “donkey” was the 1st place ribbon.
  • “Neatest” antique vehicle: Harry Blackstaff, driving a 1958 Ford pickup won 3rd place, the 1933 Model T Ford delivery truck came 2nd, with Bob Walker’s 1964 Ford Crew Cab and ’67 Caveman Camper won the 1st place ribbon.
  • Best theme entry: the white 3rd place ribbon went to the summer Santa entry from the Festival of Lights, the red 2nd place ribbon was won by St. Joseph’s School, the blue 1st place ribbon was taken by the Ladysmith Eagles.

Paterson said

“We were very happy to have the cadet band this year, and for them to come down from Comox for our Town’s party means a lot to us. This year there were a few more entries from out of Town and the club believes this shows that more and more folks are getting back into having fun.”